Car Lemon Laws: What to Know by StateJune 22, 2022
If you plan to buy a new or used car or lease a vehicle, you may be wondering about your state’s lemon laws. Lemon laws protect consumers when purchasing vehicles at auto dealerships, and car warranties often add a layer of protection for buyers. All 50 states and the District of Columbia put lemon laws on their books, but the specifics of each law vary by state. Some states cover new but not used vehicles, while other states cover new, used, and leased vehicles.
In this article, we will provide a brief overview of lemon law rights in each state so you can learn how to protect yourself after you buy or lease a new or used car.
Lemon Laws in the United States
Alabama Lemon Law
The lemon law in Alabama applies to new vehicles, but not motorhomes or vehicles over 10,000 pounds. If your car encounters a problem that makes it hard to use, decreases its value, or makes it unsafe within the first year or 12,000 miles, it’s possible you may get a refund or replacement.
Repairs must take place within 24 months of delivery of the vehicle or 24,000 miles.
Alaska Lemon Law
Alaska’s lemon law applies to new vehicles. If your car encounters a problem that makes it hard to use, decreases its value, or makes it unsafe within the first year of ownership, you may be entitled to a refund or replacement.
Arizona Lemon Law
If you live in Arizona and buy a new car, you will be covered under the state’s lemon law. The coverage period lasts 2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever happens earlier.
The Arizona lemon law for used vehicles says, “If a major component of your car breaks before the earlier of 15 days or 500 miles after you buy the car,” you will be covered. You’ll be responsible for up to $25 for the first two repairs, but the consumer can recover the purchase amount for the car.
Arkansas Lemon Law
If your new vehicle has a problem in Arkansas that makes it hard to use, decreases its value, or makes it unsafe, the manufacturer must repair it within 24 months of delivery or 24,000 miles.
If the manufacturer can’t or won’t fix the problem, the consumer has several options. These include replacing it with another acceptable car or getting their original car back and being refunded for everything plus taxes, title, and extended warranty, if applicable.
California Lemon Law
California’s lemon law applies to new, used, and leased vehicles. It covers your car if there’s a problem that makes it hard to use, lowers its value, or makes it unsafe and the dealer can not repair the defect after a reasonable number of attempts when a vehicle remains under a new car warranty.
If a car gets deemed a lemon, California consumers have 18,000 miles or 18 months from the date of purchase to return it.
For used vehicles, the state’s lemon law applies when it’s still under a manufacturer’s new car warranty. Any remaining time left on the warranty protects the car’s new owner.
Colorado Lemon Law
The lemon law in Colorado applies to new and…